No one really fucking starves anymore- but if so here is WHY.

I will tell you why artists starve- both writers and fine artists. It’s not for the fun or the glamour or the “paid-your-dues” of it all.

1- Art supplies are expensive. I went to art school. And at a certain point you either NEED or want some art supply (be it a certain kind of paper, or a specific tube of paint, or even an entire set of a certain kind of paint) and it’s either get that thing or eat. And often times the eating can be sacrificed.

A professional tube of oil pain CAN cost into the HUNDREDS of dollars. A legit copy of Photoshop ain’t cheap. Even subscribing- you are just throwing money at a thing on your computer so you can keep arting. Gouache is $8.00+ A TUBE. That is one smallish tube of one color.

2- No one is buying what you make. This goes for fine arts and writing. It’s all very well and good to “art harder/better/faster/longer/more” But it is MEANINGLESS when no one is buying what your selling.

3- And this is where I’m a little confused- because everyone I know- writer and artist (with a few exceptions) ALREADY HAS A DAY JOB. I don’t think there are artists out there literally starving for their art anymore. And again, if they are- see #1 and #2. I know people who go long stretches without employment because they can’t a job. I know people who coast on the good will of their relatives *cough* to get by.

4- If you are staring it isn’t from romance or laziness. IT’S BECAUSE NO ONE IS BUYING WHAT YOUR SELLING. It doesn’t always mean the product is bad. I honestly have NO IDEA how to succeed. If I did I would have by now.

Starving Is A Terrible Condition For Making Art

Tagged with: , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Art, Blogging, Writing

Leave a comment