MC Bloghop! Tea Times Three beat down edition. (I don’t know what I’m saying…)

I was tagged by Sunny Frazier  to to participate in this blog hop wherein I talk about my WIP. Yay!
Tea Time Three
by Che Gilson
The sleepy town of Midswich Maine is shaken when three witches arrive and open a tea shop. Brulee, Anglaise, and Caramel just want to start over in a new place, far from their troubles. Unfortunately Pastor Austin and a pack of upright citizens have other ideas.Can the witches stay in their new home and save their business? Or will they be run out of town before anyone can even try their magical teas?

Even as they make friends their days may be numbered.

Tea Times Three began life as an idea for a comic book, mini-series, or graphic novel. For a long time I tried to sustain my career as a comic book author, but everything fell apart. Tea Times Three was the one idea for a comic book that I decided to turn into a novel.  I was stumped for a long time until Sunny said “Just set it in America”. Before that I wanted Tea set in England. It was my love letter to eccentric English village comedies, food I can’t eat, and my favorite beverage besides water.
1) What is the name of your character? Is he/she fictional or historic?

Bruleé Le Crème. OK, longish story. Tea Times Three began life as a manga idea. I wanted to find an illustrator and have it be a 4 issue mini-series. It was going to be set in England and the three witches, in the great manga tradition of naming characters after food (that’s not a thing it just sounds good) I decided to name the three witches after deserts. So the oldest sister is Bruleé, then Anglaise (technically a sauce) and Caramel.

They are not historic in any way, shape, or form.

 

2) When and where is the story set?

Modern times Maine in a tiny town that I made up! It’s called Midswich (which also happens to be the name of the town in a book called The Midswich Cuckoos- better known in the US and Village of the Damned! I only just had this pointed out to me! And I’m not changing it now!) The town of Midswich Maine, it small and historic, it has a number of very old buildings, a couple going back as far as the Revolutionary War. It has made British style buildings mandatory so the whole town is designed to look like a quaint British Village. I based the idea on the town of Solvang CA which is Swedish in style and no doubt historic roots. But I don’t know that much about Solvang except I’ve been there a few times and if you ever go, do yourself a favor and get some aebleskiver.

 

3) What should we know about him/her?

Bruleé is a witch. She is the oldest of three sisters and a born optimist. She’s almost optimistic to a fault. She charges forward in everything she does and believes it will be all right. She’s not always right but she thinks she is. Her specialties are making magic teas and healing. Bruleé claims the smell of coffee gives her a headache and she has banned it from the house, much to Anglaise’s annoyance.

 

4) What is the main conflict? What messes up his/her life?

Bruleé and her sisters move to Midswich to start a business. They have little money after the death of their parents and their parent’s business failed, leaving behind considerable debt. Bruleé wants to keep her family together but if their business fails the sisters will part ways. Anglaise to pastry school and Caramel to her aunt.

While Midswich seemed perfect, the conservative  Pastor Austin has plans to evict the sisters and their tea shop.

 

5) What is the personal goal of the character?

She wants to make sure the family stays together. (I already said that didn’t I?? LOL!) She wants the tea shop to be a success and she wants to stay in Midswich.

 

6) Is there a working title for this novel, and can we read more about it?

There wasn’t a working title for the novel. It’s always been the name of the tea shop the witches open which is ‘Tea Times Three’ because there are three sisters.

 

7) When can we expect the book to be published?

Sometime in 2015! I wish I could be more specific! It is in the editing queue at Black Opal Books but publishing moves slowly. In the mean time I will be posting more updates and even the first three chapters which were cut from the final manuscript! So fun stuff is coming! I just want to pace myself. I’m attempting to build buzz, but I have no idea if I can do it! LOL!

 

And I tag author Reggie Lutz! So check out her answers on Nov 25th!

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Blogging, Books, Writing
6 comments on “MC Bloghop! Tea Times Three beat down edition. (I don’t know what I’m saying…)
  1. Reggie Lutz says:

    Yay! Witches! This sounds like a really fun read.

  2. sunnyfrazier says:

    You had me at “tea.”

Leave a Reply

